I've set up this blog so that all my friends, relations and colleagues in the world of writing can keep up to speed with what I'm doing - from now on, I'll never have to say sorry for not keeping in touch.

Or anyway, that's the plan.

So do please link up with me on Facebook and Twitter - https://www.facebook.com/margaret.james.5268 and https://twitter.com/majanovelist

You can find my novels as digital downloads on Apple iTunes, Kobo, Kindle and Nook, and most are available as print paperbacks, too.

Thursday, May 23, 2013

All in one volume...

It can be annoying when you read a series of novels out of sequence. I've done this several times, for various reasons - perhaps because I've been given or bought one book, then realised it isn't actually the beginning of a whole story.

So I was very pleased when my publisher decided to bring out my Dorset trilogy as a one-stop Kindle download, and anyone who wanted to read it would be able to do so in sequence.

The Charton Minster Trilogy tells the story of heiress Rose Courtenay, who reaches her late teens in 1914, just in time for the beginning of the First World War, or Great War, as it was known until it was eclipsed in trauma and tragedy by the next one.

The story takes in the enormous upheavals which rocked society during the war and during the depression which followed - a depression which some historians believe led inexorably to the Second World War.

But this trilogy is not a sociological or political document.  It's the story of one woman and her family, her friends and her country. It shows Rose Courtenay (later Denham) making lots of mistakes and paying dearly for them, but also finding love, having children of her own, and having to watch them make mistakes themselves. Rose learns a lot during her long life, but at a great cost.

These are not gloomy books, however, and I have hopefully shown that whenever something bad happens to any of us it can be lightened and made bearable if we can only find the courage to love and be loved in all sorts of ways. Love between friends, siblings, relations and spouses - all are to be found in the Charton Minster Trilogy.

UK readers: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Charton-Minster-Trilogy-Choc-ebook/dp/B00CS7OD24/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1369338303&sr=1-1&keywords=charton+minster

US readers: http://www.amazon.com/Charton-Minster-Trilogy-Choc-ebook/dp/B00CS7OD24/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1369340038&sr=1-1&keywords=charton+minster+trilogy

No comments:

Post a Comment